If I want to leave my baby at a safe haven, where
can I go?
You may take your baby to any hospital, fire rescue
station, or emergency medical technician (EMT) in the
state of Texas.
Do I have to take my baby to the closest hospital,
fire rescue station or EMT station?
Please remember that it is VERY important to
give your baby to a person working at one of these facilities.
That is the best way to care for your baby.
People working at these facilities usually have some
form of visible identification.
Tell the person that you want to leave your baby at
the Safe Haven Site.
No, you can take your baby to any hospital, fire rescue
station or EMT station in the state of Texas.
How long can I wait before I take my baby?
You can take your baby, up to 60 days old.
What will they ask me?
The people at the safe haven facility where you choose
to leave your baby may provide you with a voluntary
form to fill out that will be used to provide medical
information for your child. This is NOT an attempt
to obtain your identity. This information will be put
in your baby's records, and may help answer important
health questions in the future.
Is it true that the police will not be called?
The facility may offer to give you some referrals and
help lines that you may want to call in the future if
you want to speak with someone about what you have been
The police will not be called if your unharmed baby
(60 days old or less) is brought to a hospital, fire
rescue station or EMT station and given to a person
who works at the facility.
What happens to my baby?
If you leave your unharmed baby at a hospital, fire
station or with an EMT, you will not be prosecuted for
abandonment or neglect.
If you leave your baby at a fire station or with and
EMT, they will give the baby immediate medical care
and then transport the baby to the closest hospital.
Why must the baby be 60 days old or less?
The hospital will take care of any additional medical
needs that your baby may have.
The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
(TDFPS) will then take custody of your child.
After the legal responsibilities are fulfilled by TDFPS,
your baby will be placed with caring family.
The intent of Baby Moses law is to provide a responsible
alternative to desperate mothers.
The first days of a newborns life are the most critical,
and most likely the time that immediate medical attention